In its default configuration, Windows 8 will no longer display a Recycle Bin warning to users when they delete a file.
The behavior change is part of a larger series of modifications that sum up to push file management in the upcoming iteration of Windows to the next level.
Users currently get asked whether they’re sure that they want to send a file to the Recycle Bin whenever a file is deleted, with the exception of scenarios when the Shift + Delete key combination is used.
Windows Explorer evolved in Windows 8, and customers will no longer get the nagging messages.
“We've changed the default setting for prompting users when files are sent to the recycle bin to "off" for fresh Win8 installs,” Microsoft’s Jon Class revealed.
I take this to mean that deleted files will continue to move to the Recycle Bin by default, but that users will no longer be annoyed by prompts that are unnecessary the vast majority of the time.
After all, it’s only seldom that a file is deleted by mistake, and in this regard, the notification is somewhat redundant.
But at the same time, the software giant is not enforcing the new behavior on customers. Those users set in their current ways will still be able to receive Recycle Bin warning whenever they delete a file.
“In addition, we made sure that this setting: can be turned on if a user prefers recycle warnings; has its state retained on upgrade; can be set via group policy; does not block prompting on permanent deletes,” Class added.
Personally, I see Recycle Bin warnings disabled by default as an improvement, and I suspect that I’m not the only one. But I also think that not all users are ready to embrace the change. What do you think?