Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
TRENDING TODAY
Home > News > Security > Security Blog

November 16th, 2012, 13:20 GMT · By

BLOG

Telstra Warns Users of Fake “MMS” Emails Containing Malware

SHARE:

Adjust text size:


Wauchos malware moves to Australia and New Zealand Enlarge picture - Wauchos malware moves to Australia and New Zealand
Telstra – the Australian telecommunications and media company – is warning users about malicious emails that purport to come from mms@telstra.com.au.

“HOAX WARNING: Email scam. Don't open email from mms@telstra.com.au this is not from Telstra & contains phishing malware,” the company’s representatives wrote on Twitter.

Although I haven’t been able to track down the email in question, judging by the mms@telstra.com.au email address, the campaign might be related to the “MMS” campaign that has recently targeted Vodafone users.

When the volume of spam emails reached its peak in the UK, around one week ago, experts reported that the fake messages were designed to serve the Wauchos malware.

It’s likely that the cybercriminals have moved their operations to Australia and replaced Vodafone with Telstra.

This theory is confirmed by the fact that ESET’s Virus Radar shows that Wauchos infections have moved to Australia and New Zealand, accounting for 14% of the total malware detections.

I advise users to be extra careful if presented with shady MMS emails, regardless of whether they appear to originate from Telstra or other telecoms company.

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK:

2,679 hits · 6 comments · Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend · Subscribe to news

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


Fake Lookout Mobile Security Update Steals Files from Android Users

Cybercriminals Spread Malware by Sending Out Fake Vodafone MMS Emails

Wauchos Malware Hits UK via Vodafone, British Airways Spam Campaigns

“Pay by Phone Parking Receipt” Emails Spread Malware

British Airways e-Ticket Emails Found to Carry ZeuS Malware

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: Div1952 on 21 Nov 2012, 13:04 UTC reply to this comment

I have a copy of the email if you want it ... David M

Comment #1.1 by: Joc' W on 22 Nov 2012, 04:06 GMT

I've just received one in NZ... happy to toward it to you :-)


Comment #2 by: rachel on 22 Nov 2012, 01:52 UTC reply to this comment

I just received this email and deleted. Thanks for the heads up!


Comment #3 by: skotb on 22 Nov 2012, 06:49 UTC reply to this comment

this is the 1st time i have been sucked in. i was sure it was legit. i tried to open it but the zip file didnt work on my mac (thank god) it was only later I noticed the reply was only valid till 20/11/2011


Comment #4 by: Matty on 22 Nov 2012, 10:18 UTC reply to this comment

Hi,

I almost got suckered in too (received 22/11/12), here is the body of the message;

You have received a picture message from mobile number +61488708016
To save this picture, please save attached file.
You can reply once to this message via MMS for free!
To send a reply containing pictures, audio or video, click here to visit our on-line composer.
Alternatively, you can send a text-only reply (limited to 500 characters), simply by clicking your usual reply button. By replying to this message you agree to our terms and conditions. Please see our Website Terms and Conditions at http://www.telstra.com.au/terms-of-use/ for full details.
Only one reply is possible until 20/11/2011."

Don't get caught by these suckers!

Matt

PS
Thanks for posting this.

Comment #4.1 by: Waz on 23 Nov 2012, 01:51 GMT

I did get suckered. I feel so stupid. I am usually so good with this sort of stuff. What now??? I can't seem to find much online.

Copyright © 2001-2013 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM