Phishing Scam Alert: Update Your Apple Account

Bogus emails try to trick users into handing over their information

By Eduard Kovacs on July 18th, 2013 10:02 GMT

Apple customers are advised to be on the lookout for fake notifications that instruct them to update their accounts to confirm that they’re the owner.

The malicious emails spotted by Hoax Slayer are entitled “Update your account apple” and they read something like this:

“Dear Apple Customer, To get back into your apple account, you'll need to confirm your account. It's easy: Click the link below to open a secure browser window. Confirm that you're the owner of the account and then follow the instructions. [link]”

The links from the bogus messages don’t point to a legitimate Apple website, but to a fake site that’s designed to trick users into handing over their Apple account details, and their personal and financial information.

The information can be used by the cybercrooks for various purposes, including fraud and identity theft.

If you come across such emails, simply ignore them. You can also report them to Apple at this email address: reportphishing@apple.com.

In case you’re a victim of the scam, change your passwords and keep a close eye on your bank account.

Check out the gallery below to see what the fake email and the website look like.
Apple phishing scam
4 photos
   Apple phishing scam

Apple phishing scam (4 Images)

Gallery Image
01
Gallery Image
02
Gallery Image
03
Gallery Image
04
MORE ON THIS TOPIC
LATEST NEWS
HOT RIGHT NOW

1 Comment