Phishers Promise Users a Demo of the Facebook 2013 App

The cybercriminals are trying to trick victims into handing over their credentials

By on December 20th, 2012 13:05 GMT

When Facebook started switching to the new Timeline layout, cybercriminals disguised their malicious schemes as all sorts of apps that could get back the old profile. Now that the Timeline is out and everyone knows that it’s here to stay, crooks have turned to other methods.

Now, they’re attempting to steal the Facebook usernames and passwords of unsuspecting customers by promising them a demo of an app called Facebook 2013, Symantec experts report.

The phishers have created a fake Facebook login page, which they’ve hosted on a free web-hosting site. The upper part of the bogus page replicates the legitimate webpage, but the rest is designed to advertise this so-called Facebook 2013 application which should allow users to “see the world of 2013.”

The notes from the malicious site inform victims that the demo will only install the new version of Facebook for a period of 24 hours, after which the account is restored to the regular Timeline.

In reality, there’s no such thing as a Facebook 2013 app, or a layout. The crooks only want to trick internauts to hand over their credentials, after which they redirect them to the genuine social media website.

It goes without saying that you should steer clear of such scams. If you’ve already provided your password, be sure to change it immediately.

Comments