NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
Home / News / Apple

Apple


.Mac Phishing Email Doing the Rounds

The email replicates Apple's own to great extent, but does NOT direct to Apple's site

By Filip Truta, Apple News Editor

14th of July 2008, 10:29 GMT

Adjust text size:



Enlarge picture
Sources are reporting that a convincing-looking phishing email containing a picture of the .Mac "world" logo, "very much in Apple's style," is circling the web. Users of Apple's web service who've recently moved to MobileMe should take caution when opening and using links provided in suspicious emails.

The email in question is detailed below by Kath Gibson of GlasMUG (via MacsimumNews):

"Just a warning that there is a rather convincing looking
phishing email doing the rounds, which I've received this evening to my 'public' GlasMUG address," the blogger writes. "The email contains a picture of the .Mac 'world' logo and is very much in Apple's style," says Gibson. "I was so convinced it might be genuine that I went off to check my Apple store account (by opening a browser and navigating there myself, not by clicking any links, of course) to check my details, since I had recently changed my bank."

Gibson continues by explaining that all seemed to be OK with his account, until going back to the email, at which point he "hovered over the clickable 'by clicking here' link and the alt text came up showing that it was actually NOT going direct to the Apple web site." According to Gibson, the website came up as http://www.moosej.com/https/.www.apple.com/us. The man warns readers not to click this link, (and so do we), as it was posted "for your information only to help you identify the fake email."

Navigating to the moosej website, all Gibson could see was the classic "404 not found" message. Whether it's been pulled down, or is maybe just "harvesting 'live' emails for spam by tracking the click-throughs," the author of the post strongly recommends that users do not click the link.

Gibson also advises those who have friends using .Mac to let them know of this phishing email, claiming concerns over the timing - the switch to MobileMe occurring just last week -, as people might be tempted "to think it's real, and could be preventing their transition to the new system, and will click the link," Gibson writes.

TAGS:

.mac | .mac account | phishing | MobileMe | phishing email
Read by 1,106 user(s) | Add comment | Link to this article TWEET THIS


Article rating:
NOT RATED 0 vote(s)    

Subscribe to news | Print article | Send to friend

© Copyright 2001-2009 Softpedia
Contact:

 

 

SEARCH THE NEWS ARCHIVE :




Today's News
| Yesterday's News | News Archive


MORE RELATED ARTICLES:


Apple TV 2.1 Update; iPhone Configuration Web Utility 1.0

iTunes 7.7 Released - Download Here

Apple to Shut Down .Mac on Wednesday

No-Contract iPhone 3G Costs a Fortune

iPhone 3G. A 'Japanese' Guided Tour

Softpedia Recommended Mac Apps of the Week - 05.07.2008

Apple Launches 'iPhone 3G. A Guided Tour'

User opinions:


Comment #1 by: tmcb51 on 14 Jul 2008, 14:42 GMT reply to this comment

THANK YOU APPLE!!!!! Because of this NEW "ME" not only have I not had mails for 5 days now, I am told I am out-of-luck because my MAC OSX system is Panther - 10.3.9 and need to buy an update. I already pay the yearly membership. Talk about being left out!! My homepage is also floating out there somewhere.
Any help for those of us with 10.3.9??

Share your opinion:

Your Name:
Your Email Address:
(will not be used for commercial purposes)
Solve this to prove you're not a bot: =
Your review/opinion:

 




Windows tabGames tabDrivers tabMac tabLinux tabScripts tabMobile tabHandheld tabGadgets tabNews tab

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   ENTER NEWS SITE   |   ENGLISH BOARD   |   ROMANIAN FORUM