LinkedIn Finally Lets You Block Out Other Members

It's taken LinkedIn a long while to implement this feature

By on February 22nd, 2014 16:41 GMT

LinkedIn has finally introduced a much-needed feature to its platform – a way to block out other members.

Users have been asking for this particular addition for a long time, especially since there are so many members eager to create new professional connections, but who sometimes lack etiquette on most occasions.

“We know members have requested a blocking feature on LinkedIn. I come to you today to assure you that your concerns were heard loud and clear. We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do. I’m pleased to share that we are rolling out a new Member Blocking feature today to all LinkedIn members,” reads a message signed by Paul Rockwell, the chief of the Trust & Safety department at LinkedIn.

He explained that on the surface the feature may not seem too difficult to develop, but things aren’t always easy since there were many different user cases to consider, as well as products and features to integrate.

Rockwell points out that additionally to Member Blocking, there are also other setting that people may want to consider, such as disconnecting members from their network, customizing the public profile, choosing photo or profile visibility.

In order to block a member, LinkedIn users must visit that person’s profile, select the “Block or Report” feature from the drop-down menu. As a suggestion, even LinkedIn says it may be a good idea to turn on the anonymous profile-viewing feature so that person can’t see you checked out their profile, effectively making the blocking effort an anonymous one.

Blocking an individual cancels profile visibility both ways. If you want to block out a member you’re connected with, the connection will break automatically once you take that final step.

Private messages, endorsements and recommendations will be removed.

Comments