Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
Home > News > Webmaster > Internet Life

August 6th, 2009, 13:15 GMT · By Catalin Cimpanu

Lamborghini Wins Another Domain Name Dispute

SHARE:

Adjust text size:


Lamborghini Logo
Enlarge picture
Famous sports car maker Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A. was pleased to find out that WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) ruled positive on two complaints made by the Italian-based company regarding trademark disputes on two domain names.

The cases dealt with the registration and bad faith usage of the lamborghiniracingteam.com and lamborghiniteam.com by an undisclosed person that used them illicitly, breaking international trademark and copyright laws. The respondent previously acquired three Lamborghini racing cars that he wanted to enter and use in the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo 2009 race.

Being faced with payment difficulties, the respondent registered the above mentioned domain names and directed them to a web page where visitors were encouraged to sponsor the respondent to participate in the race. Lamborghini proved that the money would have been used to pay off the cars that he previously bought, and that the respondent used the “Lamborghini” term to trick visitors.

The WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center Panel ruled that the Italian car maker had its brand and trademarks illicitly used and ordered the respondent to transfer the lamborghiniracingteam.com and lamborghiniteam.com domain names to Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A.

These recent wins come after a similar dispute that was favorably resolved by WIPO in April 2009. In that case, Lamborghini accused Unity 4 Humanity Inc. of intentionally registering the lamborghini.tv domain and redirecting online traffic to the respondent's homepage, a real estate website on which it prominently advertised a TV channel for one of Lamborghini's car making competitors. Even if WIPO accepted the explanation that Lamborghini was a popular name in Italy, it ruled that the domain name could confuse users as to think it was the well-known Lamborghini trademark.

After that case, the WIPO panel concluded that Unity 4 Humanity registered the domain name in bad faith and ordered it to transfer the usage rights to Lamborghini.

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK:

1,728 hits · Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend · Subscribe to news

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


Sedo Sells Jesus.net and Server.com for Huge Profit

First Criminal Case of Domain Name Theft Is Underway

The Internet Domain Names War in 2009 Could Lead to Chaos or Evolution

Do Perfect Domain Names Exist ?

Get Domain Name Information with Whois

READER COMMENTS:



No user comments yet.
Be the first to express your opinion!
Copyright © 2001-2012 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM