Bad news for GTA Online players who lost their characters or money while playing the game, as Rockstar Games has just announced that it is working to identify and fix these issues.
It looks like Rockstar has received lots of reports from players who lost characters, rank, items, apartments and in-game money in GTA Online.
Unfortunately, devs have yet to find out what's causing these problems and there's no telling if players will eventually get back what they lost.
“We are working diligently to identify and correct the causes for these losses, as well as to establish how best to restore any lost progress and value,” explains Rockstar in a blog post.
In addition, developers state that they have not forgotten about the requests for restoration, but due to the fact that there's no telling of what the reason behind these losses is, Rockstar cannot fulfill them yet. Stay tuned for more updates on this one.
Further, Rockstar explains the way in which players can avoid having their characters lost when playing GTA Online. There's a pretty explanatory note in Rockstar blog post that details the difference between a temporary and an old character. You can check it out below:
“When the Rockstar Cloud Services are unavailable, you are given the option to still play online on disc-based content (rather than R* Cloud content). You are asked to confirm before entering Multiplayer whether you would like to play on a temporary character, without the ability to save.
If you confirm this option, please note that none of your old characters will be available for that play session, and the temporary character you create will not be saved. If you want to make sure the characters you create are saved, you should not proceed into GTA Online when the R* Cloud Servers are unavailable.
Even if the services come back up while you are playing on a temporary character, that temporary character will not save – you would need to return to Single Player and re-enter GTA Online to load your non-temporary characters and resume playing with the ability to save progress.”
There's one more advice that Rockstar offers to GTA Online players, so that they can avoid losing their old characters.
Make sure you pause the game and choose to return to Single Player mode before exiting GTA Online, as this will trigger a save for all the progress since the last auto-save. In case you decide to purchase items and then immediately power off the console, then most likely those items will not be saved.