Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
Home > News > Security

November 3rd, 2010, 16:45 GMT · By

Fake Twitter Warning Emails Lead to Pharma Websites

SHARE:

Adjust text size:


Canadian pharmacy spam poses as Twitter notifications
Enlarge picture
Security researchers warn that a new wave of spam emails pose as warnings from Twitter and contain links to rogue online pharmacy websites.

The rogue emails bear a subject of "You have 3 warning(s) from Twitter!" and have spoofed headers to appear as if they originate from a twitter-warning-[recipient]@postmaster.twitter.com address.

The contained message reads "Hello, Twitter-er! You have 3 warning(s) from Twitter! http://twitter.com/account/warning/[random_letters_and_digits]" and is allegedly signed by The Twitter Team.

It seems that spammers abused a real Twitter email template, which contains the Twitter logo and a footer, with a disclaimer and instructions not to answer back.

The link included in the email points to a rogue online pharmacy website called Canadian Health&Care Mall, which illegaly sells prescription drugs.

"If you buy drugs online from one of these websites you're not only putting your personal information at risk (remember these guys are prepared to spam and use dirty tricks to promote their sites, so they aren't likely to flinch about doing something naughty with your credit card details), but you're also potentially putting your health in jeopardy," Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos, warns.

Rogue emails masquerading as official communications from Twitter or other popular service are relatively common and this technique seems to have been adopted for all types of spam.

We've seen it used to distribute attachments containing trojans, as well as direct users to websites, that push scareware, sell counterfeit goods or launch drive-by downloads.

Users are advised to exercise increase caution when dealing with emails that contain attachments or links, even when they appear to originate from legitimate sources.

People should always check where a link actually leads by hovering the mouse over it, before clicking on it. If it doesn't point to the domain it claims to, then the email is most likely a scam.

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK:

1,077 hits · 1 comment · Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend · Subscribe to news

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


New Twitter Phish Employs Wrong User/Pass Trick

New Worm Propagates via Fake Emails Allegedly Sent by Large Websites

Twitter Invitation Email Scam Spreads Malware Downloader

Email Spam Run Impersonates Twitter Support Staff

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: FindRxOnline on 05 Nov 2010, 23:39 UTC reply to this comment

I'm sure that this article as the that are people responding to it is exactly what these people like to see but that's alright with me... I don't think many people would like to touch those 'buy prescription drugs here and here' buttons to start with, so it's not as if they made it look like something from a more reliable source like Walgreens Online Pharmacy 'free prescription and online consultation included for limited time only!' which might be more effective when using the Walgreens Pharmacy logo etc. (watch those online pharmacy emails from Walgreens next week when the twitter imposers run out of ideas ;) - . They did made a great title which even fooled me into checking before trashing it. There are truly few of this kind of emails that I remember after an hours, but when I read about this Softpedia article in Google today I immediately remembered what it was all about. Our website FindRxOnline has been used by similar individuals for the sales of fake Vicodin and Oxycontin tablets from rogue online pharmacies many times before so it has my attention to start with, but luckily that eventually stopped with time alone, and I wonder if Twitter is doing anything to try to stop these by shutting down their servers and making their hell which I would imagine might work when you have their kind of budget to spend on this... When people start abusing your good-will through trademark, brand name or company name plagiarism and arbitration then companies with the size of twitter will general seek legal assistance right away in order to protect their global reputation and image. While FindRxOnline talks about online pharmacies and the products they sell, we do not sell actual prescriptions or medications at all, and we neither take orders on behalf of orders but more than anything I wonder how Twitter feels about this? Anyways, really hope they get this issue resolved, but a nice article - keep up the good work! ;)

Copyright © 2001-2012 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM