Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
TRENDING TODAY
Home > News > Security > Security Blog

October 12th, 2012, 11:38 GMT · By

BLOG

Fake ADP Benefit Services Emails Lead to Malware-Serving Websites

SHARE:

Adjust text size:


Beware of fake ADP emails Enlarge picture - Beware of fake ADP emails
Malicious ADP spam runs have been around for quite some time now and judging by the comments made by some of our readers, they’re not about to disappear any time soon.

Besides the classic “ADP Dealers Services Invoice”, “ADP Digital Certificate Expiration” and “ADP Funding Notification,” a new type of email has been seen landing in the inboxes of unsuspecting internauts.

The notification, bearing the subject “Report,” looks something like this:

Your Transaction Report(s) have been uploaded to the web site:
https://www.flexdirect.adp.com/client/login.aspx

Please note that your bank account will be debited within one banking business day for the amount(s) shown on the report(s).

Please do not respond or reply to this automated e-mail. If you have any questions or comments, please Contact your ADP Benefits Specialist.

Thank You,
ADP Benefit Services


These emails have been analyzed by experts from two different security firms: MX Lab and GFI Software.

It has been determined that the URL’s contained in the bogus messages lead to a fake Adobe website that serves all sorts of malicious elements by leveraging the BlackHole exploit kit.

I advise you to be on the lookout for such emails. In case they already landed in your inbox and you clicked on the links, be sure to run a full system scan with an up-to-date antivirus application.
FILED UNDER:
spam
BlackHole
malware

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK:

8,322 hits · 7 comments · Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend · Subscribe to news

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


“People at Skype” Return, Send Out Malicious Password Notifications

Malware Poses as Booking.com “PDF” Confirmation Notice

Voicemail Spam from “People at Skype” Connected to BlackHole and ZeuS

Experts Warn Users to Beware of “Apple ID Cancelled” Phishing Scam

One Direction Giveaway Scam Making the Rounds on Twitter, Advertising Surveys

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: marnie on 12 Oct 2012, 22:45 UTC reply to this comment

Imhave today received an e-mail from this source but I contyacted the police and the action fraud police line. I also notified my bank but did not open this e-mail. I suspected scam as I had never had any dealings with a firm of this name. Please do the same if you are on the hit list.

Comment #1.1 by: Scam on 13 Oct 2012, 13:06 GMT

I clicked to open it but it did not open the mail


Comment #2 by: Cleeve Exile on 13 Oct 2012, 10:48 UTC reply to this comment

Received e mail 16.55 12/10/2012 "ADP Urgent Notification" from ADP Client Services with a hyperlink in the message. Had no dealings with any company of this name so being suspicious I googled ADP and thankyou for the information you published. Saved me from who knows what consequences.


Comment #3 by: bjg on 14 Oct 2012, 22:06 UTC reply to this comment

Received the latest scam message on 12/10/2012


Comment #4 by: Dennis1234567 on 27 Nov 2012, 23:30 UTC reply to this comment

Got my "ADP Urgent Notification" email today, 27 November 2012. Mine was squashed by my antivirus program. The email had an infected attachment ending in .pdf.zip


Comment #5 by: SlabCityRobi on 14 Jan 2013, 19:26 UTC reply to this comment

Jan 14th, 2013. Received another one. I have been a client of ADP and clicked on link that goes to fake blank page. Reported to FDC and to Linked in as it came from linked in member...a software guy in the bay area.


Comment #6 by: edv on 05 Feb 2013, 21:07 UTC reply to this comment

received one that had an ADP reference number; sent to all of my website emails...

Copyright © 2001-2013 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM