Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
TRENDING TODAY
Home > News > Security > Spam Reports

August 14th, 2012, 13:15 GMT · By

Beware of Shady “Product Development Summits” Invitations

SHARE:

Adjust text size:

Product Development Summits website
Enlarge picture
Would you pay $900 (730 EUR) to take part in discussions on business strategies and ideas? If you did, you should be on the lookout for spam emails that advertise the Product Development Summits.

Here’s how these emails look like:

Hi [recipient name], hope all is well. On behalf of our Board, I wanted to personally invite you into The Product Development Summit because of your key role and experience.

The Product Development Summits is an invitation-only group comprised of the very best Product Development executives and visionaries. We meet by Teleconference to exchange what is working, what is not, strategies and ideas. It is a confidential forum with dedicated groups of other successful Product Development leaders whose only agenda is to help each other outperform.

I am certain you will find this experience both enjoyable and useful in your efforts. Please take a look and let me know of your decision or relay if you think another is more appropriate.


GFI Software researcher Chris Boyd has come across one of these notifications and he claims that they should be ignored.

Why? Well, first of all, this seems to be part of an older, larger scheme that has been doing the rounds for years, every once in a while popping up under a different name, such as the CIO Summit, or the CMO Summit.

Furthermore, during the signup process, the customer is requested to provide all sorts of information, including banking details, all of which is sent back to the site via an unsecure connection. Apparently, a secure connection does exists, but for some reason it’s not the default one.

This is not the first time when experts advise users to avoid such offers. Back in July, MX Lab researchers were warning internauts to steer clear of the World Trade Register and other similar companies.


1,816 hits · 1 comment
Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


Beware of “Your AOL Mail Update” Phishing Scam

Cyber-Crime Department Phishing Scam Targets Microsoft Customers

Nationwide Spam: We Detected Irregular Activity on Your Account

Email Address for Reporting Fake Facebook Sites: Phish@FB.Com

Aircraft Brokerage and News Sites Hijacked to Serve Nationwide Phishing Scam

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: grub on 14 Mar 2013, 16:08 UTC reply to this comment

I have received the same email each day for the last three days. I used LinkedIn to locate the "current members" from their website and was not able to find any of them on LinkedIn. Definitely something sketchy here.

Copyright © 2001-2013 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM