BT Yahoo Phishing Scam: Final Warning

Cybercriminals are trying to collect the account credentials of unsuspecting users

By on February 28th, 2013 09:53 GMT

BT Yahoo! and Yahoo! users in general are advised to be on the lookout for bogus notifications in which they’re instructed to verify their accounts.

The malicious emails, identified by Hoax Slayer, are entitled “Final warning!!!” and they read something like this:

“Dear Customer,
Your incoming messages were placed on pending due to our recent upgrade.
Verify your account immediately to get your mail working by pressing the to get your mail updated

Click Here.”

Users who fall for it and click on the link are taken to a website that replicates a Yahoo login page. Those who don’t notice that the site is not hosted on a genuine Yahoo domain and enter their credentials are actually handing over the information to the cybercriminals who run the scheme.

Once they collect the information, the crooks can monetize it in several ways, including through spam and scam campaigns, or they can simply sell it to other fraudsters.

If you’re a victim of this scam, change your passwords immediately. If you use the same password for multiple accounts, change all of them.

Comments