Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
TRENDING TODAY
Home > News > Security > Spam Reports

May 8th, 2012, 13:30 GMT · By

Apple Contest SMS Messages Carry Shady Link

SHARE:

Adjust text size:

Shady SMS allegedly coming from Apple
Enlarge picture
Fake contests that purport to be sponsored by a reputable company are not new, but now, cybercriminals that launch such campaigns have turned their attention to mobile phone owners. In one instance, to ensure the success of the operation, they use the name and reputation of Apple.

“Congratulations, Your entry into our contest last month made you a WINNER! Goto www.apple.com.textwon.com to claim your prize! You have 24 hours to claim,” reads the message found by Sophos researchers.

While at first glance it may seem that the link points to the genuine Apple site, if we take a closer look we see that “apple.com” is actually a subdomain of the “textwon.com” website.

After investigating the domain, experts determined that it was registered on May 4, 2012.

“The actual contact information for who registered the domain is hidden behind by a domain privacy service, but the A-Record IP address of the domain is linked with others that are known to have hosted malware, scams, adware and fake anti-virus in the past,” Graham Cluley of Sophos reports.

Users who fall for the scam and click on the link are redirected to one of the many shady websites, depending on their location. However, in most cases, the victim is taken to a site which promises a free iPad, or other fancy gadget, in return for the completion of a classic survey.

As always, no one ever wins anything, except for the fraudsters, who earn a certain amount of money each time someone falls for the trap.

In some scenarios, after completing the survey, the users are requested to provide a mobile phone number which is used by the cybercrooks to sign them up for unsolicited premium rate services.

These types of schemes are not uncommon on social media websites and many have learned to avoid them, but now, we recommend that you also take a closer look at shady-looking offers received via SMS.
FILED UNDER:
fake survey
scam
spam
SMS


9,490 hits · 19 comments
Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


Fraudsters Scam 71-Year-Old Woman, Twice

$1,000 (€760) Walmart Gift Card Scam Inflates Phone Bills

“Disabled Facebook Account” Scam Targets User Credentials

Fake Mark Zuckerberg Facebook Lottery Hitting Inboxes

Experts Make Poll to Better Understand Fake Tech Support Calls

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: Thankful on 25 Jul 2012, 11:52 UTC reply to this comment

Thanks for the story, I have just received such a text message, ".... go to http://www.apple.com.au.txtaprize.com and enter code: xxxx on last page to claim". I thought it a bit suspicious, so did a search, and found your article. I willl not go there.


Comment #2 by: button lady on 29 Jul 2012, 05:50 UTC reply to this comment

Thanks for the info. I just received a sms with the very similar details as "Thankful". I received "go to http://apple.com.au.textwon.com and enter xxxx to claim your apple prize" Thought of it as suspicious due to the weird number it came from and that if this was the case, Apple have my itunes details to email me about such winnings! I did a search and subsequently found this page too. Message now deleted!


Comment #3 by: stupid on 29 Jul 2012, 07:34 UTC reply to this comment

What do I do if I have given them my mobile number? Is my account now being debited?


Comment #4 by: Frodo on 30 Jul 2012, 11:58 UTC reply to this comment

Recd msg from www.apple.com.au.cvtya.com/? To claim prize or replay STOP to opt out. Guess this is a scam too.


Comment #5 by: pepe on 31 Jul 2012, 03:07 UTC reply to this comment

My wife just received 2 sms from www.apple.com.auwonacontest.com entre 0000 & www.sony.com.au wonagift.info.01161413531773. Found your site and did not reply to them. Also selling a vehicle on gumtree a johnrus68@email.com(John Russell) tried to scam me.This may someone .

Comment #5.1 by: Josh on 16 Aug 2012, 06:24 GMT

Pepe, was wondering what the outcome with "John Russel" was, I just got a text message from johnrus69@gmail.com from gumtree as well.


Comment #6 by: No More on 01 Aug 2012, 00:30 UTC reply to this comment

Had a similar text hence I found this article checking it out. Question however, how do we STOP these texts without responding? (I don't want to offer more details to them!)


Comment #7 by: PA on 01 Aug 2012, 02:55 UTC reply to this comment

Cheers for the info, Just received an sms: "The Entry You Made Has Won! Goto http://www.apple.com.au.cvtya.com/...you have 24 hours to claim...blah blah. Makes me angry, delete straight away!.


Comment #8 by: mars475 on 01 Aug 2012, 07:24 UTC reply to this comment

Just got a text from johnrus68@gmail.com about my car that's listed for sale. Funny I thought it was sus so I googled... sure enough looks like it is!

Comment #8.1 by: aami on 03 Aug 2012, 11:53 GMT

i just got a text from the johnrus68@gmail.com about our car we are selling on gumtree!! he offered more than we were asking saying he cant view it because he is away in darwin on research.. so i googled it and looks like a scammer

Comment #8.2 by: Tony on 06 Aug 2012, 08:34 GMT

Me too, johnrus68@gmail.com in response to a gumtree ad. Have just ignored.


Comment #9 by: Cat on 07 Aug 2012, 01:44 UTC reply to this comment

johnrus68@gmail.com DEFINATELY a scam. I also recieved a text regarding gumtree ad, same story regarding Darwin research etc. Somehow a friend found out it is an american IP address or something? Anyway, SCAM alert!!

Comment #9.1 by: Elizabeth on 07 Aug 2012, 23:59 GMT

Me too, I have just received this kind of message. Anyway if any website ask you to enter your mobile number. Don't give your mobile number. It happened before they will ask you to enter your mobile number and they will give your horoscope information everyday via your mobile phone and you retrieve the message and then you will be charged about A$7.00 per message.

Comment #9.2 by: DK on 12 Aug 2012, 00:27 GMT

This happened to us as well John Russell (johnrus68@gmail.com) contacted us about a car ad in Gumtree. Same story about him being in Darwin doing research and wanting bank account details - he emailed a copy of a forged Victorian drivers license as proof of identity - when we stated that a relative had to meet him in Darwin to complete sale all communications ceased. Beware!

Comment #9.3 by: wahij on 14 Aug 2012, 08:08 GMT

glad you guys had posted this, coz we were considering this.

Comment #9.4 by: Josh on 16 Aug 2012, 06:41 GMT

He contacted me regarding a gumtree car ad as well, unfortuately I sent a copy of a service report to him before I realised he was dodgy, no personal details on the report though so I think I'm safe


Comment #10 by: icanmoveshitwithmymind on 11 Aug 2012, 05:32 UTC reply to this comment

Someone with a Pennsylvania area code just texted me basically the exact same message. I told them, I thought it was fake and that I was not impressed at all with them. How stupid can you be? I mean the password to claim the prize was iWin... I'm sure that if it was legitimate Apple would not have my number nor use such a crappy password. Come on people, get it together.


Comment #11 by: zoyaamreen on 17 Sep 2012, 07:28 UTC reply to this comment

the above article was all too true!


Comment #12 by: Christina on 12 Oct 2012, 15:24 UTC reply to this comment

Thank you for your warning. I didn't trust the message I received on my mobile phone (in The Netherlands), and your story confirmed my intuition...

Copyright © 2001-2013 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM