Softpedia
 

NEWS CATEGORIES:



NEWS ARCHIVE >>
SOFTPEDIA REVIEWS >>
MEET THE EDITORS >>
TRENDING TODAY
Home > News > Security

January 24th, 2012, 09:26 GMT · By

Anonymous Official Channels Say Anonyupload Is Fake

SHARE:

Adjust text size:

Anonyupload is fake, Anonymous says
Enlarge picture
Since Megaupload was shut down, Anonymous hackers and their supporters began launching all sorts of attacks and protests against the US government and authorities. In the past few days, rumors started circulating about a file-sharing site run by Anonymous, raising controversy, but also the curiosity of many.

The site in question, Anonyupload, claims to offer “100% free” and “100% anonymous” file hosting and file-sharing services.

Even though it’s free and anonymous, Anonyupload advises customers not to use only their services for several reasons.

“Anonyupload.com is a centralized service, when you upload files, they are stored in our hard drives, at a single location. And this is not good!,” reads the site’s description.

“There are many reasons why this is not good, the first is that some of you store personal information and files on machines which are not belonging to you, and that you do not have any control on.

“The second is that you are always going through the same wires, it means that someone could spy on it, monitors your activities, or decides to cut it off as it happened with megaupload.com.”

Users are recommended to use Anonyupload because “it is fun and technically interesting,” but at the same time its owners state that it doesn’t target to be a replacement to Megaupload. The donations they request are allegedly needed to buy disk space and to ensure quality and user safety.

After the news started spreading, many internauts began asking questions on official Anonymous Twitter channels regarding the site’s legitimacy.

“FYI: We have NO affiliation with this site, and by the looks of it, this is a SCAM,” reads a message on YourAnonNews.

AnonymousPress wrote, “Your Questions Answered: Do not know anything about Anonyupload except its existance, no clue who is collecting donations.”

“Anonyupload is fake, was created by some loser who is trying to profit from the idea of Anonymous. Stay tuned,” Anonymous Brazil wrote.

The Dominican and Chilean factions of Anonymous warn supporters to treat the site with maximum suspicion to avoid phishing scams.


4,877 hits · 4 comments
Link to this article · Print article · Send to friend

MUST-READ RELATED ARTICLES:


Anonymous Takes Down FBI, RIAA, DOJ and White House Following Megaupload Closure

27,000 Computers Participating in OpMegaupload DDoS Attack (Exclusive)

OpMegaupload Continues, Anonymous Uses Web LOIC

Anonymous Hacks Rihanna Fan Site in OpMegaupload

Upload.To and FileSonic Take Measures Following Megaupload Closure

READER COMMENTS:


Comment #1 by: MNP on 25 Feb 2012, 14:48 UTC reply to this comment

Well first of all, nowhere on the site does it claim to be affiliated with anonymous. So I don't see why this is even an issue. Just because something has anonymous in it's name does not mean it's trying to affiliate itself with the group.

Second of all, Anonymous is such a massive, loose group that the guy could well be an Anon anyway. Anonymous is open to anybody who wants to be in the group. So I don't see what gives this individual the authority to have any say on the matter.

Maybe it is a scam. I don't use the site. But if it is a scam he sure doesn't know that for fact.

Comment #1.1 by: Eduard K on 27 Feb 2012, 07:16 GMT

When the article was written the site's operators led users to believe that Anonymous was supporting the site. In the meantime they changed some things and even admitted that Anonymous has nothing to do with the site.

At the time some Anonymous members said it's a scam, but it may just be another legitimate file sharing site that simply caused some controversy.


Comment #2 by: Ben on 02 Mar 2013, 04:53 UTC reply to this comment

anonymous is one big fake.
feds infiltrated the movement and dox n expose real anons

Comment #2.1 by: toystory2wasok on 01 Apr 2013, 03:47 GMT

you are incredibly dense

Copyright © 2001-2013 Softpedia. Contact/Tip us at

WindowsGamesDriversMacLinuxScriptsMobileHandheldNews

SUBMIT PROGRAM   |   ADVERTISE   |   GET HELP   |   SEND US FEEDBACK   |   RSS FEEDS   |   UPDATE YOUR SOFTWARE   |   ROMANIAN FORUM